Posted by: susanmo | January 3, 2010

New Year=new post

I thought that it might be kind of fun to write about new recipes I try throughout the year.  For me the traditional food for New Years Day has always been pork and sauerkraut; Mom and Dad always said it for luck.  I’ve never been a fan of sauerkraut so I don’t make it.  This year I made a pork roast using a recipe I found on Food Network from Michael Simon.  It was delicious.   I also made iceberg wedge salads. 

Here is the recipe for the pork roast:

Roasted Pork Rack

Roasted Pork Rack:

  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 orange, zested and juiced
  • 1 lime, zested and juiced
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 center cut rack of pork (berkshire)
  • 1 tablespoon cracked coriander seed
  • 1 tablespoon cumin seed
  • 1 teaspoon ancho chile powder
  • 2 teaspoon kosher salt

Whisk together honey, juice and olive oil and pour over pork in a re-sealable plastic bag . Add seasoning and zest and refrigerate overnight.

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. Place pork on roasting rack and roast for 10 to 15 minutes or until rack turns a deep golden brown. Reduce heat to 275 and roast for an additional 35 to 50 minutes or until pork reaches a internal temperature of 140 degrees F. Remove pork from oven and let rest for 15 minutes.

The pork was very flavorful and moist. 

Michael Simon suggests serving this with zucchini fritters and provides the recipe for those as well.


Leave a comment

Categories