Posted by: susanmo | January 16, 2010

A new recipe

I’ve been watching the new show on Food Network–Worst Cooks in America.   In last week’s episode Anne’s team made a Pork Milanese that sounded good so I gave it a try.   I didn’t make the same salad that the recipe calls for.  I did my own thing and sauted shallots in a bit of oil and made a warm italian dressing with romano cheese.  It turned out good.

Pork Milanese with baby green salad and warm vinaigrette

 

I know it is late for Christmas dishes but I haven’t swapped them out yet. 

Here is the link for the recipe I used for the pork.  Pork Milanese

 
Earlier in the week I need a quick dinner so I used a go to recipes for sloppy joes.  Rachael Ray’s Super Sloppy Joes is the best recipe I have come across for sloppy joes.  It is quick, easy and I always have all of the ingredients on hand.  It also freezes well.

Here it is in the pan on my stove just after mixing it. 

Super Sloppy Joes

A little hint that I use when a recipe calls for less than a can of tomato paste.   I plop tablespoons of the extra paste on wax paper and freeze it and then put it in a plastic container.  This way I have premeasured amounts easily available.  I find that this is much cheaper than using tomato paste in a tube.


Responses

  1. I luv that show as well! It also inspired me to try out the Pork Milanese recipe 🙂 I also tried out Chef Beau’s Ginger Soy Cream Cod recipe to be fair. Both were equally delicious!


Leave a comment

Categories